Home | Engineering
Engineering Faculty was founded in 1973.This faculty had been called Power Engineering,Automation and Mechanical Engineering since 1976.In 1992 Power Engineering was separated and the Faculty was called Automation-Mechanical Engineering.In 1997 Mechanical Engineering was decomposed and there was established a Faculty called Automation.
The Faculty of Engineering was established on the basis of engineering professions which are based on the Power Engineering in 2006. Nowadays dean of Engineering Faculty is associate professor Ulduz Kheyrulla oglu Aghayev.
Faculty staff consists of 6 professors,Doctor of historical sciences, 13 associate professors Candidate of historical sciences, 14 senior lecturers and 10 assistants.
At present 10 PhD students are engaged in scientific work in the Faculty.
Education is lead in full-time and correspondence departments.503 students– among them 459 students studyin Bachelor’s degree (407 students are enrolled in full-time and 52 in the correspondence departments ) and 49 students for Master’s degree (44- in full-time and 5- in correspondence departments) are enrolled in the education process.
There are 4 departments in the Faculty:
Majors for Bachelor’s degree:
-Computer engineering
-Automation and information techniques
-Process automation engineering
-Information technologies and systems engineering
-Metrology, standards and certification engineering
-Process automation engineering (Tempus Project)
Majors for Master’s degree:
-Computer engineering
-Automation of technological processes and production
-Standardization and certification
-Information systems in management (Tempus Project)
-Energy management (Tempus Project)
Majors for Ph.Degree:
-Systematic analyses,management and information systems
-Information-measuring and management systems
Major research directions of the Faculty:
-Working out theoretical and practical problems of automated projecting modeling and managing instruments
-Working out automated managing systems for production processes
-Theoretical principles of two-phased conditional mechanics and calculating of construction elements.
There are 8 teaching laboratories which meet modern requirements:
1.Computer technologies and programming
2.Information technologies and systems
3.Electron converters and measurements
4.Automation and information techniques
5.Technical means and technological measurements
6.Automatic regulations,digital managements and local systems
7.Establishment of innovation set among universities.Videoconference hall
8.Standardization and measuring techniques.
This faculty has a special place in expansion of interrelations of Sumgayit State University with foreign countries.In 2004 with the support of the Ministry of Education the preparation of students began for the profession of “Automation and information techniques” with the Bachelor’s degree’;in 2007 in the framework of Tempus Project with the profession “Energy management” preparation of students began with the Master’s degree for chemical industry.
Engineering faculty chairs and scientific research laboratories
Sumgait, Azerbaijan
43rd block
Phone: +994-18 642-16-20
Fax: +994-18 642-02-70
E-mail: info@sdu.edu.az